AT Youtube Video

Check out this video for the App explanation:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OUowXjXEkG8

Check out this video about my experience with Speak for Me:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pn3IHZba7VI

In my previous video, I showed you the Speak for Me App on the Ipad. It seemed to work well when I was experimenting with the Ipad in my kitchen.  However, I did not realize it did not work without a wireless network. I discovered this when I went out to use the app at the mall.  I was in a shoe store with my mom and the only thing the app would speak for me was “hi.” It was frustrating to not have the ability to talk and on top of that, my app would not work. I resorted to typing messages and showing people my screen.  The first task I completed was in DSW, a shoe store.   I tried to interact with my mom while she was trying to find shoes for a business trip. She kept getting with impatient with how slowly I would respond to her. I also was frustrated very shortly after starting this exercise and was annoyed with my app not working.  She also walked away from me, which made me feel ignored. This made me feel empathy for those cannot verbalize because I believe often times they probably feel ignored by those around them. When I asked the women at the counter to hold to shoes, she also assumed I could not hear. My second stop was a café in the mall to buy a smoothie. I noticed that people were giving me funny looks. This man, however, did not assume I was deaf.  This experience taught me to be thankful everyday for the ability to verbalize without needing an app or some other device to speak for me. I also developed a new level of empathy for people who need communication devices. I also learned that even though IPADS are great tools you need to research the app in depth before going out and using it. This exercise also showed me that high tech AT is not always better than low tech AT. Sometimes a simple pencil and paper or a picture board does a better job than a free app does.

Leave a comment