Final Blog Post

This AT class taught me a lot in a short period of time.  One of the first things I learned in the course was AT services need to be considered for all students, no matter what their disability category is.  Before this class, I taught of AT as just being high tech devices. However, I learned that AT is defined in the federal law  as ” any item, piece of equipment, or product system, whether acquired commercially off the shelf, modified, or customized that is used to increase, maintain, or improve functional capabilities of a child with a disability. ” The IDEA law also talks about AT services which is ” any service that directly assists a child with a disability in the selection, acquisition, or use of an assistive technology device.”  AT can be as simple as pencil grip, and as high tech as an Ipad or smart phone device. AT also is on a continuum of low-tech, mid-tech, and high-tech devices.  Throughout the course, we discussed many different devices to help support writing, reading, organization, math, and communication. For a more detailed list of resources I learned about, please visit my resources list on my blog post.  I think one of the most important things this class taught me was that it is important to stay informed on AT because it can benefit so many different students, including students without disabilities. I also learned not to underestimate the power of AT to open up doors for students who could not interact with the world around them otherwise.  It was great to hear the success stories of people who used AT to help them succeed inside and outside of a school environment through viewing a conference put on by students with disabilities. I also enjoyed reading the success stories of people who used AAC devices.  Overall, I know I will use many of the things I learned in this class in my future classroom.

Leave a comment